Alliance Cancer Control Program Junior Faculty Award

The Alliance Cancer Control Program will not offer the Junior Faculty Award this year. This may be offered in future years based on the availability of funding to support this application. However, all investigators are encouraged to apply for funding through the Alliance Special Projects Allocation mechanism for consideration, if your research addresses high-priority research areas. Learn more about this special project allocation here.

Questions about the award should be addressed to Jill Oliveri, DrPH at or 614-293-8174.

Here's a list of past award recipients.

Year 8 | Junior Faculty Award Recipient

  • Ko Un "Clara" Park, MD, FACS (The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center)
    Mentor: Heather Neuman, MD, MS, FACS (University of Wisconsin)

    “Strategies for Implementation of Operative Standards in Breast Cancer Surgery"

Year 7 | Junior Faculty Award Recipient

  • Joseph Zenga, MD (Medical College of Wisconsin) | Mentor: Tina W F Yen, MD, MS (Medical College of Wisconsin)
    “A Topical Antiseptic Bundle for Decreasing Surgical Site Infection After Head and Neck Cancer Surgery”

Year 5 | Junior Faculty Award Recipients

  • Elizabeth Cathcart-Rake, MD | Mentors: Aminah Jatoi, MD; Carmen Radecki Breitkopf, PhD; and Judith Kaur, MD (Mayo Clinic)
    “Development of a Mini-Curriculum to Teach Healthcare Providers to Query Cancer Patients about Sexual and Gender Minority (SGM) Status and Sexual Health”

Year 3 | Junior Faculty Award Recipients

  • Ryan Nipp, MD | Mentor: Jennifer Temel, MD (Massachusetts General Hospital)
    "Electronic symptom monitoring intervention for hospitalized patients with cancer"

Year 2 | Junior Faculty Award Recipients

  • Joleen Hubbard, MD | Mentor: Aminah Jatoi, MD (Mayo Clinic)
    "Biomarkers of toxicity among older patients enrolled in the adjuvant colon cancer clinical trial (N0147)"
  • Eric Roeland, MD (UCSD Moores Cancer Center) | Mentor: Charles Loprinzi, MD (Mayo Clinic)
    "A prospective pilot study to evaluate and correlate early lean muscle loss with functional activity in metastatic gastrointestinal and lung cancer patients"
  • Ashley Rosko, MD | Mentor: Michelle Naughton, PhD (Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center)
    "Identifying and maintaining fitness in hematologic malignancy: A clinical and biologic approach"

Year 1 | Junior Faculty Award Recipients

  • Andrea Enzinger, MD | Mentor: Deb Schrag, MD (Dana-Farber Cancer Institute)
    "Patient centered videos to enhance informed consent for palliative chemotherapy"
  • Haejin In, MD | Mentor: Bruce Rapkin, PhD (Albert Einstein College of Medicine)
    "Development of a gastric cancer brief screener to identify persons for screening endoscopy referral"
  • Devon Noonan, PhD | Mentor: Kathryn Pollak, PhD (Duke University School of Nursing)
    "Addressing tobacco use disparities in rural older adults through an innovative mobile phone intervention: Testing the feasibility of the texto4gotobacco intervention"
  • Erica Peters, PhD | Mentor: James Marshall, PhD (Roswell Park Cancer Institute)
    "Data harmonization and preliminary analysis for a pooling project of seven completed Alliance trials"