E-Newsletter - May 2021
Awards + Appointments
Spring Virtual Group Meeting Recap

Alliance AWARDS

2020 Richard L. Schilsky Cancer and Leukemia Group B Achievement Award





Jeffrey J. Kirshner, MD, FACP, FASCO
Principal Investigator, Hematology Oncology Associates of Central New York, and Director of Research, HOACNY Community Clinical Oncology Program

"DSMB 101: Keeping Us All Safe and Sound! (Don't Sweat Monica Bertagnolli!)"

The RLS CALGB Achievement Award acknowledges the significant contributions of an individual to cooperative group research. It was established in 2010 to recognize the 15-year tenure of Dr. Schilsky as Group Chair of Cancer and Leukemia Group B (CALGB

Alliance Foundation Special Project Allocation Awards

Alvaro Alencar, MD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine
University of Miami
“Health Disparities in Lymphoma: Analysis of a Critical and Often Overlooked Prognostic Marker”


James L. Chen, MD
Associate Professor of Medical Oncology
Ohio State University
“Alliance Harmonized and Unified Biodashboard (HUB) Initiative”


´╗┐Wendy Frankel, MD
Professor and Chair, Department of Pathology
Ohio State University

“Automatic Detection of Tumor Buds in Colorectal Cancer Patients from H&E Images”

Andrew Hantel, MD
Hematologic Oncology

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
“Development and Piloting of a Novel Provider Feedback Intervention to Improve Clinical Trial and Biobank Enrollment Diversity”

Maryam B. Lustberg, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
Ohio State University

“PIN ALLIANCE: Power in Numbers Using Harmonized GWAS and Toxicity Data”


Alliance Cancer Control Program
Chair, Alliance Health Disparities Committee

Lucile L. Adams-Campbell, PhD
Associate Director for Minority Health and Health Disparities Research
Senior Associate Dean for Community Outreach and Engagement
Professor of Oncology
Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center at Georgetown University Medical Center

Vice Chairs, Alliance Health Disparities Committee

Matthew P. Banegas, PhD, MPH
University of California – San Diego


Hala Borno, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
Division of Hematology/Oncology
University of California San Francisco Medical Center

Vanessa B. Sheppard, PhD
Theresa A. Thomas Memorial Chair in Cancer Prevention and Control and Associate Director, Community Outreach Engagement and Health Disparities
Department Chair, Professor
Department of Health Behavior and Policy
Virginia Commonwealth University – Massey Cancer Center

Alliance/American College of Surgeons Clinical Research Program
ice Chairs, Alliance Cancer Care Standards Development Committee

Kaitlyn J. Kelly, MD
Surgical Oncologist
Assistant Professor of Surgery
UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center


Toan T. Nguyen, MD
Surgical Oncologist
Lakeland Regional Health Hollis Cancer Center

Alliance/American College of Surgeons Clinical Research Program
Vice Chair, Education Committee


´╗┐Rebecca A. Snyder, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Division of Surgical Oncology
Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University




For other articles in this issue of the Alliance E-News newsletter, see below.